Anime Review: Take Hold of the King’s Power in “Guilty Crown”

(Photo: HDWPapers)

(Photo: HDWPapers)

I’m not going to lie, I have been thinking about what I would say in this review ever since I finished the series about a week or so ago. I didn’t originally watch “Guilty Crown” when it first aired in Japan, in fact I had heard rather negative things about it from people who did catch it first. Yet, I took those criticisms with a grain of salt when I decided, on a whim, that I would purchase the BD/DVD Combo Pack of “Guilty Crown” part one from FUNimation.

I was hooked.

I had heard that the show was more or less a carbon copy of “Code Geass” with names and situations slightly altered, and while it DID have similarities to the epic rebellion tale, it was its own show, and it realized that fact. I had also heard that the show was nothing without the original score composed by SUPERCELL, and while the score was amazing, the show still shone through any difficulty put in its path.

“Guilty Crown” follows Shu Ouma, a socially awkward young man who really only makes friends by telling everyone what they want to hear. Then, when he stumbles upon Inori Yuzuriha, the lead singer of the Internet-based band EGOIST, he is drawn into a conspiracy involving the government, his family, and the mysterious epidemic labelled as the “Apocalypse Virus.”

In a short time, Shu is drafted into the terrorist cell known as “Funeral Parlor,” and is given the “Power of Kings” or the “King’s Right Hand” depending on the translation. This power allows him to extract the souls of people around him, which then take the form of weapons, depending on the person’s inner-self.

Overall, the story is solid. Sure, the resemblance to “Code Geass” is definitely apparent, but it’s not distracting. If nothing else, the production staff most likely used it as a reference, which is actually pretty cool. I personally loved the setting, which was a futuristic Tokyo, alongside the catastrophic and mysterious “Lost Christmas,” which was the day the virus became an outbreak.

The character relationships were also very interesting. Sure, as with many other anime titles, some characters do things that can’t exactly be explained logically, and “Guilty Crown” is no different. In fact, for a good majority of the series there is a character who does a complete 180 only for us to find out that he was trying to do something that could have been prevented by alternate means.

The ending, which  I will refrain from spoiling, is rather controversial due to the setup not exactly being fulfilled. While it still has an amazing ending in my opinion, they neglected the setup that they worked so hard to utilize in order to create the ultimate level of feels possible.

That being said, the show hooked me enough to binge it, which is an honor in and of itself compared to my ever-growing list of anime titles on my “to-watch” list. It also made me really contemplate the ending, which is why it took so long to get this review out. So thanks, FUNimation, for delivering a truly epic product, and keep up the great work.

For these reasons alone, “Guilty Crown” gets an 8.5/10. 

Leave a Reply

